cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extreme Newbie - Question about NAC failure

Extreme Newbie - Question about NAC failure

Mark_Allen
New Contributor
I am an Extreme newbie. My college just implemented a new Extreme Networks infrastructure - core, edge, wireless, with NAC and Netsight. I am a 20 year Cisco veteran and come from a port-based knowledge base.

NAC is completely new (and foreign) to me. I like what it can do, and I love the information I'm gleaning into my network from Netsight. However, i'm terrified of what will happen if the NAC controller goes down for any reason. My sales engineer told me that the switches could be configured to fail open so that things would continue to work in the event that NAC wasn't in the middle - authenticating every entry onto the network.

I need some pointers about where to go to configure this, and if it's possible. Right now things are working ok, but I want to put in that safeguard so that things will still continue to function (without the security of course) when the controller goes down.

I'm planning on taking training for all of the products - but my first class doesn't start until November - so I"m a little nervous in supporting this environment until I get some knowledge under my belt.

Any and all comments would be welcome.

Thank you.

Mark Allen

7 REPLIES 7

Scott_Singer1
Extreme Employee
Mark,

As Z mentioned above, you can add a redundant ExtremeControl (NAC) server to provide redundancy. This is highly recommended and does not affect your client licensing, as this will be pooled between the servers.