Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extreme SPB Fabric Configuartion

Extreme SPB Fabric Configuartion

Andre_Brits_Kan
Contributor II
Hi Community

I am new to the Extreme SPB Fabric (Avaya). I have some questions around the configuration to implement what the following:

Below is a high level diagram of the network we are trying to configure in my lab:

743b9022cb214f208060d8404d397f5a_RackMultipart20181030-4838-h9om3j-Fabric_Hub_inline.jpg

The requirement from the client is to be able to extend some L2, Multicast services and from edge to edge without touching the core or speaking to the ISP.
Fabric fits this requirement like a glove.

The client will have 4 sites.

These sites connect to each other over MPLS Point to Point VLPS services from a 3rd Party ISP.

In the core on each site the client will be deploying VSP switches. The bigger sites will get VSP8xxx and at the smaller sites VSP4xxx series switches. (Each site will have at least two of these Core VSP series switches to High availability)

On the edge of each site the client will be deploying new x440-g2 switches.

In my LAB environment I am simulating the ISP MPLS VPLS service with 3 extreme x460 switch, configured with VPLS full mesh config.
I also have two VSP8404's and two VSP4850's to simulate the core as per the above diagram.

I started my lab by just connecting the Core VSP's directly to each other and configuring fabric connect on all 4 nodes.
I then added the Fabric Attach config on the Edge x440-g2's and the VSP ports connecting to the edge.

This service works great, I provision an Vlan on the x440-g2 and assign an i-sid.
I do the same on the remote site and the l2 services is extended, edge to edge as expected.

The next step in my lab is to introduce the MPLS WAN connection and configure the Fabric Extend.
However do I need to configure "Fabric extend" in this scenario?