cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hitless Upgrade on BD8810

Hitless Upgrade on BD8810

Network_Enginee
New Contributor
Good day all! I'm new to Extreme and reading the 15.4 EXOS Concepts Guide I had a question on Hitless Upgrades. I think I completely understand the steps/concepts of Hitless Upgrades except one mention in the documentation:

"If you have a BlackDiamond 8800 series switch and the new ExtremeXOS image supports hitlessupgrade but is not compatible with the current running I/O module image (the I/O version numbers do not match), you cannot perform a hitless upgrade."

Below is the output from my BD 8810. We're upgrading to bd8800-15.5.4.2-patch1-5.xos.

Does that statement in the documentation apply to me? Does that basically say the cards in Slots 1, 2, 4, 8 and 10 in my chassis have to be running same code levels?

A.1 # sh ver

Image : ExtremeXOS version 15.2.3.2 v1523b2-patch1-10 by release-manager
on Wed Jun 5 10:28:14 EDT 2013
BootROM : 1.0.4.5
Diagnostics : 1.19
A.2 # sh switch

SysName: XXX
SysLocation:
SysContact: support@extremenetworks.com, +1 888 257 3000
System MAC: 00:04:96:52:54:21
System Type: BD-8810

SysHealth check: Enabled (Normal)
Recovery Mode: All
System Watchdog: Enabled

Current Time: Wed Sep 9 11:24:23 2015
Timezone: [Auto DST Enabled] GMT Offset: -300 minutes, name is EST.
DST of 60 minutes is currently in effect, name is EDT.
DST begins every second Sunday March at 2:00
DST ends every first Sunday November at 2:00

Boot Time: Thu Jun 26 12:14:48 2014
Boot Count: 10
Next Reboot: None scheduled
System UpTime: 439 days 23 hours 9 minutes 35 seconds

Slot: MSM-A * MSM-B
------------------------ ------------------------
Current State: MASTER BACKUP (In Sync)

Image Selected: secondary secondary
Image Booted: secondary secondary
Primary ver: 12.5.2.6 12.5.2.6
Secondary ver: 15.2.3.2 15.2.3.2
patch1-10 patch1-10

Config Selected: primary.cfg primary.cfg
Config Booted: primary.cfg primary.cfg