How do i trunk 2 extreme 440s together via mm fiber?

• Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
I am very new to Extreme and have been successful on single setups without complex configurations. The new situation is between extreme summit 48 and a 24 POE switches. I have the 48 working fine, i can run the other straight equally fine. When i connect the two via fiber, the ports shut down on the secon (24 port) switch. Please assist if you can. I feel so ridiculous asking, but i need so support. getting frustrated and im sure it is an easy fix!
Photo of Mike92495

Mike92495

• 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of Grosjean, Stephane

Grosjean, Stephane, Employee

• 12,552 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi,

Can you describe how you interconnect them and the related config? When you say "the ports shut down", you mean all the ports, or the one you have connected to the other switch? Have you enabled Spanning Tree?

Based on your info, my guess is that you enabled Spanning Tree on the switches, and you tried to create a LAG between them, without the correct LAG config, resulting in a loop.

So, in case the above is correct, you can simply create a LAG (ports 1 and 2 are member of the LAG) this way:

# enable sharing 1 grouping 1,2 lacp

This will use a basic L2 address-based hashing, you can change it by adding the "algorithm" keyword and configure another one.
Photo of Jason Parker

Jason Parker, Employee

• 2,918 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Here is  the basic information and maybe this information was missed:
Warning: Any config on the master port is lost (STP, IGMP Filter, IGMP Static Group, MAC-Security, CFM, etc.)

enable sharing 25 group 25-26 lacp
25 is the lead port

To check status
show port sharing

Example:
* X150-24p.40 # enable sharing 25 group 25-26 lacp
Warning: Any config on the master port is lost (STP, IGMP Filter, IGMP Static Group, MAC-Security, CFM, etc.)

* X150-24p.41 # show port sharing
Load Sharing Monitor