cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to gain access to CLI on Summit x440-8p, and update firmware (Mac OSx)

How to gain access to CLI on Summit x440-8p, and update firmware (Mac OSx)

Sean_Devonport
New Contributor

Hello

I'm very new to the Extreme world of switches. I am using the Summit x440-8p switch and am having trouble finding documentation for it in the support portal.

I want to update the switch's firmware, as well as enable AVB packet mirroring. So far I have been unable to connect to the switch CLI via the console port when using telnet. However, I am able to send AVB traffic via the switch.

Things to know - The switch was updated with new firmware a few years ago by someone else in our department who is no longer here. They've left a note on the switch that says "Default IP 192.168.1.1 and an MGMT port IP 192.168.1.10. Primary partition: Default XOS and Secondary partition is AVB enabled XOS." I have been unable to access the switch via these IPs.

I'm using a Mac OSx Sierra to try handle the updating process.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

I have followed numerous links, particularly
https://extremeportal.force.com/ExtrArticleDetail?an=000084622

https://community.extremenetworks.com/extreme/topics/updating-upgrading-firmware-on-extreme-switch

http://www.extremenetworks.com/support/documentation/

5 REPLIES 5

Sean_Devonport
New Contributor
Thank you so much for the help!

Have managed to access the router's management port - all it took was manually setting my mac IP address to the switch's subnet. Easy fix!

Erik_Auerswald
Contributor II

Hello Sean,