cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to manually assign master role to a summit stack ?

how to manually assign master role to a summit stack ?

Kar_Del_Moral
New Contributor III
I'm new to summitStack configuration, my question about manually assign the master role, is because I need to connect the fiber uplink to the Active Core (our configuration is two Cores, Active-pasive) and the redundant link to the backup, or what do you recommend?
7 REPLIES 7

Kar_Del_Moral
New Contributor III
Thanks Patrick!!

Patrick_Voss
Extreme Employee
If you build the switch manually (IE not use easy stacking) you can set the priority for each node like so:

configure stacking slot priority <1-100>

Keep in mind that if for some reason slot 1 reboots and slot 2 takes over as the master that it will not give the master status back to slot 1 when it comes back.

Ultimately it does not matter what slot you plug the up-link into considering it is acting as 1 logical switch. If you are looking for redundancy just in case a slot fails I would recommend building a LAG where one cable is plugged into slot 1 and the other is plugged into slot 2. Both these ports act as one logical unit and they kind of "share" the traffic as well but if slot 1 fails the cable plugged into slot 2 will take over all the traffic.

Hope this helps!

Thanks again, Now I understand it.... better 

I apologize, I think i misunderstood your setup. In order for ESRP to work properly in a active/standby situation the device needs a path to both of them. This way if the active core fails the standby core can take over.

The scenario I provided only works for connecting from one logical device to another. Example, a stack that consist of four switches to a stack that consist of two switches. Even though the connections are spanning across slots in the stack it is still one logical connection using two physical connections.