ISW 16804 Configuration

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I am brand new to the Extreme Switch 16804 and I'm not a router guy
Going through doing basic configuration, IP config
Mode - Host or Router ?
Reading through the config guide it says Host mode won't route traffic through any port
Popup Help window is useless
Search for Youtube videos is a total waste of time, frustrated

Can anyone explain which mode this switch should be in, it's purpose is to sit at each end of a wireless link and pass vlans and QinQ

Also how do I specify a gateway for the NTP ?

Dave
Photo of Dave Emery

Dave Emery

• 150 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 years ago

Photo of Tripathy, Priya Ranjan

Tripathy, Priya Ranjan, ESE

• 2,306 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hey Dave,

Welcome to HUB for your participation.
I can see here you are talking about the Industrial switch for its desired mode to be placed in and setting up gateway for the NTP.

Basically these ISW devices can have two way of access either via GUI or CLI mode. When you consider them to be implemented for any configuration set up then it would be wise to put them under config mode always. 

Coming to setup the gateway for NTP you can either login to the device using its default ip address and log in credential to get into GUI mode where you can find the tab configuration under which there is NTP option available to configure your gateway as server else you can achieve them using cli mode as well:

ntp server <1-5> ip-address <ip>Description Set NTP server address.

Syntax:

ntp server <1-5> ip-address { <ipv4_ucast> | <ipv6_ucast> | <hostname> }
Parameter

Name Description
<1-5> index number 
<ipv4>
<ipv6 > Type: Mandatory
<hostname> Server name
Photo of Dave Emery

Dave Emery

You're way back, I've already logged in thru the GUI, and set 2 NTP server iP's in the list
I've changed vlan 1 iP and added another management vlan and set an iP for it as well