cancel
Showing results forĀ 
Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 

Problem with QOS configuration

Problem with QOS configuration

Cheyne
New Contributor
I am new to Extreme networks and trying to figure out how QOS works on. I have been following all the examples and guides located on this site, but have been unable to successfully see QOS working.

I am trying to setup QOS for voice traffic using Summit X450e-48p switches and 8810 Blackdiamond for my core.

Below is a snip it of my configuration:

create qosprofile ā€œQP6ā€

create vlan ā€œvoipā€

configure vlan voip tag 50

configure vlan Default add ports all untagged

configure vlan voip add ports all tagged

configure qosprofile QP6 maxbuffer 100 weight 1

configure qosprofile QP6 minbw 0 maxbw 100 ports 1:1

configure qosprofile QP6 minbw 0 maxbw 100 ports 1:2

configure qosprofile QP6 minbw 0 maxbw 100 ports 1:3

configure qosprofile QP6 minbw 0 maxbw 100 ports 1:4 etc, etc,

configure dot1p type 5 qosprofile QP6

I verified the voip phones are using the 801.2p type 5 tagging

When I make a phone call and use the: show port (X) qosmonitor I never see any packets using QP6. Only QP1 and QP8.

This seems very straightforward to setup. What am I missing?

Thanks,

7 REPLIES 7

Prashanth_KG
Extreme Employee
Hi Cheyne,

Thank you for verifying the information. I did a quick test with X450e and this configuration should work well if the packets ingress with the dot1p value. of 5.
Qosmonitor is to monitor the traffic egressing the switch. We should be checking the output in the egress port. So, if my ingress port is 1:1 and egress port is 1:2, I see the following.

(pacman) Slot-1 Stack.29 # sh port 1:2 qosmonitor no-refreshPort Qos Monitor
Port QP1 QP2 QP3 QP4 QP5 QP6 QP7 QP8
Pkt Pkt Pkt Pkt Pkt Pkt Pkt Pkt
Xmts Xmts Xmts Xmts Xmts Xmts Xmts Xmts
===============================================================================
1:2 0 0 0 0 0 5401539 0 0

It works fine in the lab.