Stacking/Connecting x440-24 and x440-48

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered

Hi,

I'm new to the Extreme range of devices and would like to ask for some advice on connecting 2 switches, 1 x440-48p and 1 x440-24p.

What are my options on the above?

Can I use the RJ45 ports as an uplink or must I use the copper/fibre ports on the right hand side of the switch?

In either solution do I need to configure the ports in any way?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Photo of Jason Short

Jason Short

• 390 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of Paul Russo

Paul Russo, Alum

• 9,694 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Jason. stacking on XOS uses 10G ports only. The switches you have have 2 copper CX4 ports that are used for stacking. Use stacking cables and connect the two switches and use the command config stacking easy setup. Note that this will unconfigure the switches to go I to stacking mode.

Thanks
P
(Edited)
Photo of Jason Short

Jason Short

Hi Paul,

Thank you for a very quick reply.

The switch that I have has 4 ports I believe. I have the obvious 24 x RJ45 ports (ports 21-24 show as being Shared Ports) and to the right of them I have what appears to be four copper ports (also numbered 21-24).

Are these the copper ports you refer to?

Regards,

Jason

Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Ronald Dvorak, Embassador

• 44,984 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
I think the 2 stacking ports are on the back of the switch.
On the last page of the datasheet you'd find the order# of the stacking cable.
http://learn.extremenetworks.com/rs/extreme/images/Summit-X440x-DS.pdf
Photo of Jason Short

Jason Short

Hi Ronald,

Thanks for your reply.

I should have mentioned that I aware of the 2 stacking ports on the rear of the devices but I believe that if I use these then I will have to re-configure both switches (1 of them is currently in use).

So I was hoping to use either the RJ45 ports or the SFP ports at the front of the device.

Do you know if this is possible?