What are the 5Ghz non-DFS, non-overlapping channels?

• Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
What are the 5Ghz non-DFS,  non-overlapping channels?
Photo of Laura

Laura

• 982 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of John

John

• 220 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Laura:

Not all of the channels in the 5 Ghz band are useable all of the time.  If you are near an airport then some of the 5 Ghz channels are not available to you.  DFS stands for Dynamic Frequency Selection so basically you have that feature turned on and your APs will listen for Radar or first responders using those 'shared' frequencies and not use those channels if they are being used.

Check this out.

John

Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Ronald Dvorak, Embassador

• 48,954 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
I'm not an expert on the US regulatory domain so here a link to wikipedia...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels

The 5GHz channels don't overlap, BUT if you use channel bonding for 802.11n or 802.11ac to bond more channels to a 40 or 80 MHz channel you'd need to make sure you don't overlap.

In the latest controller version the GUI also show which of your 5GHz channels are non-DFS - just choose custom channel plan and you get the list.
The below screenshot is for AP country set to Austria ...

Photo of Laura

Laura

Thanks,
We use the non DFS channels: 36, 40, 44, 48, 149, 153, 157, 161
At some schools we use 40Mhz and other school use 20Mhz. I don't know why.
Photo of Walfs Adam

Walfs Adam

• 60 Points
Which country do you live?
Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Here another slide that illustrate how channel width affects the available non-overlapping channels...

Photo of Laura

Laura

So if I were to use 5Ghz, non overlapping.  non DFS channels at 40MHz, I could use 36 , 44, 149, and 157? Would that work?
Photo of Hartmut Sachse

Hartmut Sachse

• 2,598 Points 2k badge 2x thumb