Re-authentication for Guest-Users after ended session lifetime


Userlevel 1
Hi community,

what happens when a Guest-User is disconnected due to ended session lifetime regarding a re-authentication?
For example: account lifetime is set to 8 hours; session lifetime is set to 1 hour.
After 1 hour doing "nothing", the user has to retype his name and password or is it solved via cookies or so?
Software: 09.21.02.0014

Best regards,
Stephan

4 replies

Userlevel 7
From the "help" guide on the controller....
  • Session lifetime — Specify a session lifetime, in hours, for the new guest account. The default 0 value specifies no limit to the session lifetime. The session lifetime is the allowed cumulative total in hours spent on the network during the account lifetime.
So if he is doing nothing for an hour the account is not longer valid as the user consumed his one hour session lifetime (active time).

Might be that this one helps to unterstand it better.....



-Ron
Userlevel 1
Hi Ron,

thank you for the answer. I understood this. The picture is very good!
So if I connect a device with my login username and password and using the account for 10 mins and then turn of my wi-fi connection for 5 mins and then turn it back on again - do i have to retype username and password? All within the session lifetime.

Stephan
Userlevel 7
Hi Stephan,

10Minutes - there is no new login required IF the controller settings are on default.

This is because the default idle post timeout is set to 30minutes.
So a client session is keept for 30minutes if the clients isn't tx any data.

You could check it - connect with the client - in the reports client per VNS you should see the client - turn of the WLAN adapter - the client is still in the report for another 30minutes.

Here the KB article about the timeouts...
https://gtacknowledge.extremenetworks.com/articles/Q_A/How-to-adjust-the-client-timers-on-the-Identi...

-Ron
Userlevel 1
Hi Ron,

now I got it.
Thank you very much for your help, great job!

Stephan

Reply