Header Only - DO NOT REMOVE - Extreme Networks

S-Series Module Decoder

  • 5 September 2013
  • 0 replies

Userlevel 3
Article ID: 12341


S130 Class
SG4101-0248, ST4106-0248
S140 Class
SG2201-0848, SK2008-0832, SK2009-0824, ST2206-0848
S150 Class
SG1201-0848, SK1008-0816, ST1206-0848
SG1201-0848-F6, SK1208-0808-F6, ST1206-0848-F6
SSA-G1018-0652, SSA-T1068-0652, SSA-T1068-0652A
S155 Class
SG5201-0848-F6, SK5208-0808-F6, ST5206-0848-F6
S180 Class
SK8008-1224, SK8009-1224, SL8013-1206
SK8008-1224-F8, SK8009-1224-F8, SL8013-1206-F8
SG8201-0848-F8, ST8206-0848-F8, SK8208-0808-F8
SSA-G8018-0652, SSA-T8028-0652
Series 1 NEM
SOG1201-0112, SOK1208-0102, SOK1208-0104, SOK1208-0204, SOT1206-0112
Series 2 NEM
SOG2201-0112, SOK2208-0102, SOK2208-0104, SOK2208-0204, SOT2206-0112, SOGK2218-0212, SOTK2268-0212, SOV3208-0202
Expansion Module

This article will help "spell out" the method by which S-Series module (not a chassis or power supply) part numbers are derived, considering each group of characters in turn from left to right.


First group - Device Type where this part is used

    S =S-Series SO =S-Series Optional NEM or Expansion Module SSA=S-Series Standalone
Second group - Interface Type

    G=1G SFP or SFP+ K=10Gb L=40Gb T=Triple Speed (10/100/1000) Ethernet V=Virtual Switch Bonding (VSB)
Third group - Dependent upon Device Type

    For Device Type "S" or "SSA" - Class of Module[list]4=Access S130 Class 2=Distribution/Core S140 Class 1=Distribution/Core S150 Class 5=Distribution/Core S155 Class 8=Distribution/Core S180 Class Please refer to the Enterasys S-Series datasheet for differences between these module classes.
For Device Type "SO" - Series of NEM or Expansion Module
    1=Series 1 NEM 2=Series 2 NEM 3=NEM or Expansion Module for S140/S180 only
[/list]Fourth group - Dependent upon Device Type

    For Device Type "S" or "SSA" - Number of Option Slots[list]0=No option slots 1=One option slot 2=Two option slots
For Device Type "SO" - Module Type
    0=Expansion module 2=Standard NEM
[/list]Fifth group - Port Type

    01=SFP 06=10/100/1000Mb RJ45 PoE (802.3at) 08=SFP+ 09=10Gb and VSB 13=40Gb and VSB 18=SFP/10Gb SFP+ 28=10/100/1000Mb RJ45 and 10GB SFP+ 68=10/100/1000Mb RJ45 PoE (802.3at) and 10GB SFP+
Sixth group - I/O throughput capacity including option modules

    01=10Gb 02=20Gb 03=30Gb 06=60Gb 08=80Gb 12=160Gb
Seventh group - Number of fixed front panel ports

Eighth group - for Fabric modules, the Fabric capacity

    F6=1280Gb, load sharing F8=2560Gb, load sharing
Putting it together

Here are some examples of applying these guidelines to a given part number:
    SG1201-0848-F6 S S-Series G 1G SFP or SFP+ 1 Distribution/Core 2 Two option slots 01 SFP - 08 80Gb I/O Capacity 48 48 fixed ports - F6 1280Gb fabric capacity SK1008-0816 S S-Series K 10Gb 1 Distribution/Core 0 No option slots 08 SFP+ - 08 80Gb I/O capacity 16 16 fixed ports SOG1201-0112 SO S-Series optional NEM G 1G SFP or SFP+ 1 Series 1 2 Standard NEM 01 SFP - 01 10Gb I/O capacity 12 12 fixed ports SSA-T1068-0652 SSA S-Series Standalone - T Triple Speed (10/100/1000) Ethernet 1 Distribution/Core 0 No option slots 68 RJ45 PoE (802.3at) / 10GB SFP+ combo - 06 60Gb I/O capacity 52 52 fixed ports[/code]

0 replies

Be the first to reply!