Header Only - DO NOT REMOVE - Extreme Networks

Configure Flow Redirect with Multiple Match Conditions

I have successfully configured flow redirect a few times using examples from other posts here on the Extreme site such as:

https://gtacknowledge.extremenetworks.com/articles/How_To/How-to-configure-flow-redirect
and
https://gtacknowledge.extremenetworks.com/articles/How_To/How-to-create-and-apply-an-ACL-in-EXOS

However, in some cases I need to be able to enable flow redirect in a very specific manner for specific hosts. For example I might need host 10.22.70.10 to not be matched for flow redirect when accessing the Internet (0.0.0.0/0) but I do want it to be matched for flow redirect when it is destined for any private network (10.0.0.0/8, 192.168.0.0/16 or 172.16.0.0/12).

I realize this question is more about configuring access lists than flow redirect. I am fairly new to access list configurations on the Extreme devices.

I would think I could do something similar to this:
entry one {
if match all {
source-address 10.22.70.10/32 ;
destination-address 10.0.0.0/8 ;
} then {
deny ;
} [/code] if match all {
destination-address 192.168.0.0/16 ;
} then {
deny ;
}
if match all {
source-address 172.16.0.0/16;
destination-address 172.16.0.0/12;
} then {
deny ;
if match all {
source-address 10.0.0.0/8 ;
} then {
permit ;
}

Does anyone have any thoughts or advice on this?

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi Trevor,

What you have above should work. The first matching entry will be taken, so you would catch a packet from that host going to any of the RFC1918 addresses before it hits the last permit.

Of course, if you wanted to flow-redirect the traffic, the action in those entries should be 'redirect-name', not 'deny'.
Userlevel 3
Hi Trevor,

if you want:
- host 10.22.70.10 to not be matched for flow redirect when accessing the Internet (0.0.0.0/0)
- flow redirect for network (10.0.0.0/8, 192.168.0.0/16 or 172.16.0.0/12).

Your ingress vlan/port ACL may look like below: