Header Only - DO NOT REMOVE - Extreme Networks
Question

create+acl

Hello,

I'm new to scripting and creating acl files and need help with denying a device from broadcasting mdns on udp port 5353. Also, can the address be a mac address instead of ip? We have the ip address but it's mac address is referenced in logs and scans on our network. The device is being seen as a access point but it's our phone system. Also, should the acl be applied on all switches including the core switch?

Thanks,
Kevin

10 replies

Userlevel 4
Kevin,

Is this on an Extreme device? The address can be the MAC in lieu of the IP, below is a brief example:

if {
ethernet-source-address mac;
ethernet-destination-address ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff;
protocol udp;
source-port port#;
destination-port port#;
} then {
action-modifier;
}
}
Yes it is. We have a summit x460 and 10 summit x440 edge switches.

Would this work?

entry deny_mdns {
if {
source-address mac 00:e0:07:06:cc:bb;
protocol UDP;
source-port 5353;

}then {

deny;

}

}
Userlevel 4
Kevin,

If it is a broadcast I would add ethernet-destination-address ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff;

Also keep in mind that the syntax is "ethernet-source-address and ethernet-destination-address"

"source-address" is for IPs. Also from what I read the MAC for mDNS is 01:00:5E:00:00:FB and the IPv4 address is 224.0.0.251. You do not want to use the mac of the machine but rather the mac that the protocol sends out.
Ok, then perhaps this is what we should write and apply it just to the suspected port on the switch? Thanks for your help on this. is the syntax correct?

entry deny_mdns {
if {
ethernet-source-address mac 00:e0:07:06:cc:bb;
ethernet-destination-address 224.0.0.251;
protocol udp;
source-port 5353;
destination-port 5353;
} then {
deny;
}
}
Userlevel 4
Kevin,

replace the ethernet-source-address with the MAC of mDNS 01:00:5E:00:00:FB;

replace ethernet-destination-address with the broadcast MAC, which is ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff;