cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XMC control configuration easy mode

XMC control configuration easy mode

Wikedeye
New Contributor
My organization purchased XMC for k12 license and I am having some issues with getting everything configured. I have the management, analytics and control servers running, but I am finding it difficult to find good instructions for getting control working properly. I am not a complete idiot, but I also am not really as experienced with setting up these types of environments. Can anyone recommend a guide that explains how to set up all the parts and pieces needed to be able to view/monitor end user computers. I have my entire network infrastructure in the management console (switches, routers, firewall). I have partially setup the analytics side, but I am still learning all about that. Do I actually need control to view end user systems?
5 REPLIES 5

Bill_Handler
Contributor II
Working with a qualified partner is advantageous in setting up XMC/Control/Analytics.

End-System Licensing can get to be expensive, so Analytics an Control especially in a K12 environment, where you may need additional licensing beyond what is included in the XMC-K12 bundle, so it may be worth speaking with your Extreme Sales rep or a qualified Extreme Partner to help guide you to the best solution for your environment.

Thanks,

Bill

James_A
Valued Contributor

Tomasz
Valued Contributor II
Hi Wikedeye,

Try to walk through ExtremeControl docs here:
https://www.extremenetworks.com/support/documentation/product-type/software/

I'll try to make this short for you, if anything needs more clarification just let us know or try to use the above resource.

Firstly add your managed devices to XMC with appropriate access (SSH, SNMPv3 most likely) profile. Among these devices there are your authenticating devices (RADIUS clients). Also Extreme Access Control should be there after initial appliance setup.