Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to block a single MAC Address

How to block a single MAC Address

systemscsn
Valued Contributor

Hi,

I work in a school that has Pre-K all the way through to 12th grade.

We have been experiencing issues, where people will get bumped off the wifi, or they will connect but not get an IP address.  Also, the normally green cloud next to the AP, goes red.  I jump into the firewall and connection diagnostic, and see a computer that is sending and receiving a massive amount of data.  

I believe this may be deliberate, and to test this theory, I want to block their MAC Address within ExtremeIQ, and see if the issue clears up.  Can someone tell me how to do that within the ExtremeIQ interface? please?

many thanks in advance, J.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

systemscsn
Valued Contributor

Hi,

I went another route, as I did not want to risk the devices needing a reboot with that configuration change.  So I enabled the Deny Filter within DHCP.  From what i have read about DHCP and Windows Server 2012, its best to only Enable the Deny, as people have run into issue with the DHCP Server Service when enabling both Allow Filter and Deny Filter.

If anyone is interested, here is the official Microsoft link:

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/25665.how-to-enable-and-configure-dhcp-m...

As i said though, many comments in many other articles said they had Service issues with both enabled, so be careful.  The article above doesn't mention any issues enabling both.