Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fabric Extend - Over Private WAN and Internet Simultaneously

Fabric Extend - Over Private WAN and Internet Simultaneously

Ppenev
New Contributor

Hello Extreme Community,

I am new to the Fabric Connect architecture/paradigm and I’m currently learning it by building an extensive lab with licensed physical equipment in a physical data center.

I’m in need of a little configuration guidance with regard to Fabric Extend and the extension of the SPBM fabric across L3 networks.

I am able to create an FE tunnel over an IP-VPN WAN between a VSP4900 at a Main site and a remote XA1440 appliance at a branch site.

I am also able to create an FE tunnel with IPSec over the Internet between an XA1440 at the Main site and the same remote XA1440 appliance.

What I can’t figure out is how to configure both at the same time - I am limited by only being able to configure a single ISIS ip-tunnel-source-address on the VSPs.

On each side, I am using a separate VRF to isolate the interfaces which connect to the L3 transport networks, and a I’m using a brouter port for the tunnel on both sides. The red brouter ports are sitting in a DMZ on each firewall with public IP addresses.

On the diagram below, I have full IP connectivity with some static routes inside the Fabric Extend VRF. Inside the VRF I am able to ping out to the Internet and at the same time I can ping across the WAN to the main site.

I can build an ISIS adjacency between the purple dots, and then when I change the ip-tunnel-source-address to the public IP I can get and ISIS adjacency between the red dots.

b7881de122894829bc41a1bc4e918fb8_c832e183-2dd5-4061-ae0b-82b6a73946a3.png

Remote XA:

#
# ISIS CONFIGURATION
#

router isis
sys-name "Remote_XA"
ip-source-address 10.0.0.11
ip-tunnel-source-address 10.13.10.26 vrf fab_extend
is-type l1
system-id 0050.0000.aaaa
manual-area 10.01
exit
router isis enable

#
# LOGICAL ISIS CONFIGURATION
#