cancel
Showing results forĀ 
Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 

Saving logs to Logstash

Saving logs to Logstash

James_Reynolds
New Contributor
I am configuring my switches to save their logs to a central log server running Logstash. I had 2 questions regarding this. I'm using Summit switches.

1. Does anyone know which facility is used for what? That is, when I type "configure syslog add 10.0.0.1:514 vr vr-default" and hit tab, I get this list:

Remote syslog servers facility
"local0" "local1" "local2" "local3" "local4" "local5" "local6" "local7"

I've configured my switch to use all 8 of them, and it works, but do I need to do all 8?

2. Is anyone familiar enough with Logstash to know how to modify the syslog filter so that it can parse these messages: "11/06/2014 10:46:15.95 ...". I'm brand new to Logstash, so I don't know how it to plug in regular expressions to get the timestamp, priority, process name, and message (I can write the regex's just fine, just don't know how to plug them in).

Here's a regex real quick: (\d\d/\d\d/\d\d\d\d \d\d:\d\d:\d\d.\d\d) <(\w+):(\w+).(\w+)>(.*)
Match 1 is timestamp.
Match 2 is priority.
Match 3 is process name.
Match 4 is part of the message I guess.
Match 5 is the message.

The timestamp needs to be in what Logstash calls Grok format, something like "MM/dd/yyyy hh??ss.??". Anyway, I'm reading about this now, I was just hoping maybe someone might've already done this and I could piggyback.

Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4

Rasolo_Rija
New Contributor

Hi,

Did u manage to make your logstash works ?

Regards

Rija

James_Reynolds
New Contributor
Eventually my syslog server is going to be collecting logs from around 200-400 devices. I am familiar with Splunk but I expect I'll hit the data caps that will make it more expensive than I can afford. Because of that I've stayed away from actually trying it out.