cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm pretty new to HM, but I'd like to know how to apply SSIDs only to specific APs. For example, all APs on the 2nd floor to SSIDA and APs in the office/lobby area to SSIDB. Can anyone give me a hand or direct me to a tutorial?

I'm pretty new to HM, but I'd like to know how to apply SSIDs only to specific APs. For example, all APs on the 2nd floor to SSIDA and APs in the office/lobby area to SSIDB. Can anyone give me a hand or direct me to a tutorial?

AnonymousM
Valued Contributor II
4 REPLIES 4

dparsons
Contributor

With being new to HM there is a completely different approach to the environment you need to consider. Goal one is to minimize the number of SSIDs in use in your hive. In short you only need one SSID per authentication type. As Sam suggested using data rates is a great way to clear the air and help clients stick closer to home. If you need to segregate user then there are better options than different SSIDs.

One thing that I would say is don't get too hung up on users being spread out some as that is not always a bad thing. Helps spread the load on the APs. Look at the signal strength on the users. Sometime there are things that affect the strength of the connection that are not always obvious. This can cause a client to connect to an AP that appears to be further away but may be a cleaner signal for that client. And then sometimes the clients (not users) are just defying logic and doing stupid stuff.

samantha_lynn
Esteemed Contributor III

In that case I would also recommend going to Configure> Open the Network Policy> Open the SSID(s)> Customize the Optional Settings at the end of the SSID page> Under the Radio and Rate settings if you turn the lower data rates to N/A, this will require a stronger connection between the device and the AP, so client devices will connect to the AP that is nearer to them.

AnonymousM
Valued Contributor II