cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I have a loop in this stack?

Do I have a loop in this stack?

Neal_Howard
New Contributor
I am a brand new owner of a pair of X670V-48t switches and am a complete newb to Extreme switches and XOS but I've got over 15 years of experience with Cisco Catalyst switches and am well-versed in those.

My pair of X670V-48t switches are equipped each with a VIM4-40G4X module and are connected together as a stack with a pair of QSFP+ cables.

I had Extreme's tech support assist me with configuring the stack and was advised to connect the VIM4 ports on the back of each unit as Port 3 on Switch A to port 4 of Switch B and Port 4 of Switch A to Port 3 of Switch B.

Tech Support remoted into my PC and configured the switch stacking configs for me and the stack seems to be functioning, but part of the behavior of the switches troubles me.

All the blue LEDs on the connected ports of the VIM4 modules themselves and the blue "ST" LEDs on the front panels, and also all the link LEDs of any Ethernet port connected to a computer all blink rapid-fire, machine-gun-like *in unison* at a very high rate of speed even when there is no real network traffic. In the Cisco world, where I'm much more familiar, this unison-LED-blinking generally indicates very bad juju... that a loop exists or that some kind of broadcast or multicast packet storm is happening. Even with no computers connected to the switches, or any connections to the rest of my network (just the two switches connected to each other via the QSFP+ cables and isolated from the rest of the world) the blue LEDs on the back and front of the units still blink rapid-fire in unison.

Is this normal behavior for a stacked pair of switches in the Extreme switch world?

Here is my stacking configs:

Slot-1 SANBONE-10G.1 # show stacking
Stack Topology is a Ring
Active Topology is a Ring
Node MAC Address Slot Stack State Role Flags