Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to improve fast roaming

Trying to improve fast roaming

MarkS
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to the WiNG software so still getting to grips with the interface and features. I'm no WiFi Expert but can normally find my way around.

In my new role I have inherited 3 x NX-5500 (v5.8.0) controllers and about 100 AP's (AP650 & AP7522).

One of the WLANs (WPA2 with Passkey) is used in the warehouse where the terminals (FLT Mounted & MC Handheld Guns) are roaming around the warehouse. There were previously WAY too many AP's in the warehouse but this has been reduced now and we have used heatmapping software to check the signal strength around the warehouse. Also the channels in use have been staggered.to reduce any overlap, but SmartRF is not enabled.

The application on the devices constantly talks back to the server updating pick & Pack instructions.

We notice on the handhelds, if running a constant ping, that they occasionally lose single pings as we walk through the warehouse. I am assuming this is as they switch to a different AP.

However on the FLT mounted units, as they fly at breakneck speed through the warehouse, the drop out is much more pronounced and because it drops for so long, the software times out.

If we change the network settings and disable WPA, reducing to an Open network locked down to a MAC based ACL, then the drop out is less pronounced and the software is able to recover the dropouts.

Summary, it seems that when encryption is enabled and the FLT units roam quickly around the warehouse the problem is worse. With Encryption disabled, the problem is slightly better.

Q1: Is there any general performance benefit to setting the WLAN to work in Tunnel mode rather than local (currently Tunnel)?
Q2: Is there any roaming benefit to using Tunnel based mode over Local?