Availability failover - site AP selections were lost in synchronization?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
My primary C5210 lost network connectivity this morning, and it appears that my failover went sour. When things transitioned to my backup C5210, all of my sites were there, but the AP assignments were lost.

It took me a while to figure out what the issue was, and now that I have corrected everything, I am afraid to transition back to the primary for fear of losing my site to AP assignments again. I have the "Synchronized" box checked for all my site configurations. And the last time I did a failover, this did not happen. But it was a planned transition in perfect network conditions.

Are there any noted cases of this happening? Perhaps it's a bug or expected behavior.

I am running firmware 10.31.01.0048.
Photo of Steve Ballantyne

Steve Ballantyne

  • 5,806 Points 5k badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Ronald Dvorak, Embassador

  • 51,226 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
no risk no fun :-)

I'd check > VNS > Global > Sync Summary = make sure everything is in state synchronized.
Just because you've enabled sync doens't mean it's in sync.

Cheers,
Ron
Photo of Steve Ballantyne

Steve Ballantyne

  • 5,806 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
I don't think I have ever noticed that area before. It appears that I have every box checked.
Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Ronald Dvorak, Embassador

  • 51,226 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
It should not only show that it's checkmarked but more important that the status is "Synchronized" like in the below example.

(Edited)
Photo of Ronald Dvorak

Ronald Dvorak, Embassador

  • 51,226 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
And if you change anything (i.e. enable a AP radio in the WLAN services) you should get a log message.

In that case from my controller#1 and .102 is the 2nd controller in my pair....

06/20/17 15:51:52InfoConfig Managerwlan settings ICP synchronized successfully with 172.24.24.102
Photo of Doug Hyde

Doug Hyde, Technical Support Manager

  • 20,710 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Are you using sites mode for the main configuration or are these just VNS's?
Photo of Steve Ballantyne

Steve Ballantyne

  • 5,806 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
I synchronize on a global level. So when I am looking at a particular site, the box is checked and grayed out, and says "Replicated when Synchronize Configuration is enabled".
Photo of Steve Ballantyne

Steve Ballantyne

  • 5,806 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
So it seems any AP that I move from my backup controller to the primary controller *that is in a site* will lose it's WLAN's. If I got into the site properties and remove the AP's, save, add them back, save, then they pick up the WLAN's again.

If I move an AP from the secondary to the primary that is *not* in a site, it retains it's WLAN's without any problems. Anyone have an idea of where I could look for clues? Might just have to open a ticket with support on this one.
Photo of Steve Ballantyne

Steve Ballantyne

  • 5,806 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Just a quick follow up on this --- I called into GTAK today because I need to finish moving these over and I wanted someone to see this happening in real time. The tech I spoke with said that he believes that this is a firmware flaw which has since been resolved.

The issue was not so much with synch'ing between the two controllers. But rather was with the AP's ability to talk to the controller it is presently connected to. Moving it to another controller by approving as foreign just brought the issue to the surface.

I noticed that the version I am presently running, 10.31.01.0048, has disappeared from the list of available downloads - so I too believe that this may be an old bug.