cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Console Commands for Configuring Eth1 in Bridge Mode on an AP230.

Console Commands for Configuring Eth1 in Bridge Mode on an AP230.

foralltheothert
New Contributor

I'm finding it VERY hard to find information about this online, so here I am asking for help.

The Goal: I want to use a wire to plug a computer into Eth1 on the AP and have access to my LAN through Eth0, just like the WiFi interfaces do.

The Backstory: I'm a hobbyist technician who bought a used AP230, likes CLIs, and doesn't ever plan on using any form of HiveManager.

Current Setup: Both wireless antennas are hooked up to Eth0, which is plugged into a POE+ switch. That part works perfectly. I changed Eth1 to "bridge-access" mode using:

interface eth1 mode bridge-access

The Problem: When I plug a computer into Eth1 it recognizes that it's plugged into something, but is assigned a random IP address that is not on my LAN and can't ping anything. I haven't been able to find evidence that any further configuration is necessary, much less how to do said configuration.

Troubleshooting: I've tried plugging the AP into wall power, as some have suggested, but that has no effect (nor did I expect it to.)

The Details:

AH-0d26c0#show interface eth1

Parent interface=none;

Mode=bridge-access; Mac learning= disabled; Admin state=enabled;

WEB server=disable; NAT support=disable; DHCP client=disable; DHCP server=disable; DNS server=disable;

IP addr=0.0.0.0; Netmask=0.0.0.0;

Internal station traffic state=enabled;

Operational state=down; Duplex=unknow; Speed=unknow;

LLDP state=enabled; CDP state=enabled;

Hiveid="hive0"; Vlan=1;

MAC addr=9c5d:120d:26c1; MTU=1500;

Rx packets=0; errors=0; dropped=0;

Tx packets=5; errors=0; dropped=0;

Rx bytes=0 (0 B); Tx bytes=957 (957 B);

AH-0d26c0#show interface eth0

Parent interface=none;

Mode=backhaul; Mac learning= disabled; Admin state=enabled;