cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Onboarding a switch with preexisting config

Onboarding a switch with preexisting config

a_stan
New Contributor II

I have a Dell switch in production. I now need to add it to HiveManager. Must I erase the startup config, reboot the switch and configure it from scratch in HM interface? Or is there a less intrusive way for me to perform this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

martin_ryan
New Contributor

Hi Ana-Maria,

Be warned - I'm new to Dell switches in HiveManager as well - bit Idid have a similar issue. Unfortunately, I tried a number of things to resolve it at the same time so, I'm not sure which solved it - but two things to check;

1) I've couldn't see where routed ports and other layer3 information is to be stored in HiveManager - so, just check that the config push is not "cutting off the branch you're sitting on" - i.e. that the interface you need for HiveManager to reach the switch is not being cut off by inappropriate config.

2) I had AAA running on the switch and one of the issues was that there were authentication failures on the ACS server for user "hivemanager" (or something similar. Ensuring local authentication works and turning off AAA authen and authorization may help.

Best of luck, Martin

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

martin_ryan
New Contributor

Hi BJ,

Assigning port types, VLANs, etc via templates is no problem and we do the same.

However, using the channel-group, sub-interface command, you can create a port channel - a new interface in it's own right. Where in hive manager are you going to configure the characteristics of this new interface? Depending on your needs, a given vlan may include a layer-3 interface which on the CLI, you bring into existence by simply declaring, "interface vlanN". Again, where in hive manager are you going to store the ip address and other characteristics of this interface?