Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No DHCP address for any AP122 client

No DHCP address for any AP122 client

Trummel
New Contributor II

Hi everyone.

I’m new to Aerohive kit, so I suspect this is a simple lack of knowledge.  

I have an existing site with 6 AP122’s all working fine (configured by my predecessor).  I need to add a remote site.  The VPN’s are in place between the sites.  A client connected directly to the wired LAN at the remote site, picks up a DHCP address from the remote LAN DHCP server without issue. 

I have added a new AP122 on the remote site. It also picks up a DHCP address and downloads the profile from ECIQ.  Client devices seem to connect to the AP122 without issue, but don't get an IP address from the local DHCP server.  I have tried adding the local server to the AP122 DHCP helper, but that makes no difference. There is no vlan tagging of any sort configured on the remote site.  Other AP’s  (not Aerohive) allow DHCP clients on without any issues.

Any suggestions what I could be missing gratefully received.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Trummel
New Contributor II

I managed to resolve this.  I needed to amend the network policy to create a new user profile with a device location specific assignment rule that didnt use the vlan.  All good now.

Thank you.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Trummel
New Contributor II

I managed to resolve this.  I needed to amend the network policy to create a new user profile with a device location specific assignment rule that didnt use the vlan.  All good now.

Thank you.

Trummel
New Contributor II

Thanks for the response Stephan.  I find this all very confusing.

There is actually nothing enforcing the vlan at the remote office (all dumb switches).  The VPN between offices also is vlan transparent.  The AP doesnt seem to care, it picks up its own DHCP address quite happily.