cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get a new 5400 to use SFP module uplink

Can't get a new 5400 to use SFP module uplink

RichardH
New Contributor II

I'm replacing an old Dell switch with a 5420M-24 with a fiber uplink. The old switch worked fine with it's SFP fiber connection but when I moved it to the 5420 I can't get the switch to talk to the network at all. I enabled Ethernet mode on the 5420 with the `disable stacking-support` command but that didn't help.

The U1 port seems to be active and processing traffic (the green light blinks) but the switch still doesn't acquire an IP address from our DHCP server and I can't even ping our firewall.  I also tried installing a new SFP+ module in one of the uplink ports but I get the same result.  As far as I can tell the ports are active and the packet counts are going up, but it still can't see anything on the other side of the fiber connection.

I'm new to the 5xxx series and have more experience with the older X440 stuff.  I feel like I'm missing something simple (and stupid) but I just don't know what it might be.

Later...
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

It turns out that the problem was stupid simple.  I worked with Extreme technical support and we discovered that each end of the fiber connection was configured differently.  :facepalm:  One side was configured for 1000 full duplex and the other for 10000 full duplex (or something like that).  It wasn't the SFP modules or the fiber link or anything "hard".  I was so focused on thinking that it was something difficult I overlooked the simple stuff.  I guess I thought that both sides of the link were configured to auto-config (like most UTP ports are) and didn't even consider that they might not be.

It was a little weird in that while we were testing it the TX stats would go up but the RX stats were zero; packets would leave the switch but nothing was coming back.  Maybe that can help someone in the future if they have the same problem.