Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port Security Questions

Port Security Questions

onlineserv
New Contributor

Hi All,

I just took on a role at a new organization and am having some discussion with my manager around port security for which I have been tasked with setting up and configuring. From what I’ve been able to gather so far I have a couple of options where I can use/setup mac locking where (from what I understand) the switches can learn and lock the ports down based on what it finds (static mac locking) or I can set it up on a first come first serve basic (dynamic mac locking)  which on the surface seems a little less secure. 

Can someone here explain to me what the best approach would be to setup mac locking (port security) where I can learn (or import a list of mac addresses) and allow for inclusion of other devices should an acquisition take place? Forgive me but I’m relatively new to this and have never worked with Extreme switches, also can someone also provide me with a link to an article or documentation that outlines how I would go about setting this up? 

Thank you,

S….

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

StephanH
Valued Contributor III

Hi Shannon,

If you are looking for a reliable solution that allows you to easily learn and manage new MAC addresses, then the switches themselves are not the best solution. When managing MAC lists on switches, for example, it is hard to keep the information consistent across all switches and there is no option to lern new macs.

The solution to this problem is a Radius servers or NAC gateways. Specifically, Extreme's XMC (Extreme Management Center, new XIQ Site Engine) and NAC (Network Access Control) is a good solution for learning and managing MAC addresses. In addition, with NAC you can also create a set of rules that allows you to dynamically assign different rights or VLANs to individual groups to which the MAC addresses have been assigned.

Simplified, the process can look like this: