cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VLAN philosophy - are VLANs necessary?

VLAN philosophy - are VLANs necessary?

Michael_Savage
New Contributor
Hi everyone. I am just wondering what people think about the use of VLANs in a 100% Extreme network (B5 for wired and 5210 wireless)? I've heard things like VLANs are "old school" and there are better ways of doing things now with policy, NetSight, and NAC. I do believe policies are powerful tools for configuring and securing the network, but there is still that old idea of isolating traffic into separate broadcast domains for performance reasons. And dividing your network into subnets (VLANs) makes it easy to create policy and shape traffic on the firewall.

Are there any opinions out there? Should we be looking at a mix of both VLANs and policies? Are VLANS passé? I am new to Extreme Networks and policy-driven equipment so would very much welcome the feedback.
7 REPLIES 7

Michael_Savage
New Contributor
Thanks! This is great feedback, everyone - it helps a lot. Your response has lent assurance to the idea that both policy and VLANs are required in good network design.

André_Herkenrat
Extreme Employee
I would even like to introduce another aspect to this topic: errors in the network.
In most cases these errors are caused by an individual system and affect a broadcast domain. If you make broadcast domains smaller (In several environments I have one subnet per switch and traffic group) you have two effects:
1. The misbehaving systems are easier to locate
2. The impact to your network is less.

So having several VLANs gives you a lot of advantages and only a little more work.

EtherMAN
Contributor III