cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EAC: Policy rule, do I need or not a any deny role?

EAC: Policy rule, do I need or not a any deny role?

Rien_van_Maurik
New Contributor
Hello There

I'm just learning about configuring EAC, and I have a question about the configuring policy rule's.

I understand that to allow or deny traffic in a policy rule I must add the policy role's needed to the rule.
Now is my question, when I allow the needed traffic in the rule is there also an ANY DENY role needed in the rule to block al other traffic?

thank you for the answers

regards

Rien
4 REPLIES 4

Rien_van_Maurik
New Contributor
Hello Tomasz

thank you for your answers

Yes that helps.
I agree that I use the purport of rule and role wrong.
Thank you for the clarification it help a lot

regards Rien

Tomasz
Valued Contributor II
Hello Rien,

In XMC Control menu the Policy tab is about Policy feature that is imminent to EOS and EXOS switches and ExtremeWireless. It's under the same Control menu as all the rest but this one is not unique to EAC. You can define roles and rules and apply them to your EXOS switches without EAC.

Regarding your second paragraph, I suppose we have mixed ourselves a bit between "role" and "rule".  Please correct me if I'm wrong. The role defines default action for user traffic and rules override this default action for certain packet types. So if you have a rule e.g. "Reachability Testing Machine" and it has default action of Deny, it can have a rule assigned, which is about permitting ICMP. Then, all the traffic will be blocked except ICMP.