cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use "netlogin authentication service-unavailable vlan" on Universal Switches

How to use "netlogin authentication service-unavailable vlan" on Universal Switches

JPavel
New Contributor

Hello together,

I am new with Extreme Control and got only in touch with it years ago on G1 switches.

I am just setting up some Universal Switches with 802.1x authentication and would like to have a default vlan all clients should fall into if all Control Engines are unavailable, so something like the "configure netlogin authentication service-unavailable" on the older G1 switches.

We are only using the "RFC3580 VLAN Authorization" and no policies so far and right now I have no glue how I should have a fallback vlan if the authentication services are not available because the config parameter "configure netlogin authentication service-unavailable" is not available on the Universal Switches.

Can you please give me an idea how to accomplish that.

Thanks in advance for your help

Joerg

5 REPLIES 5

Ryan_Yacobucci
Extreme Employee

Hello,

We can't create a default policy that's only triggered when Control is un-available. If Control responds with an unconfigured filter-ID the default policy is also used.

Looking at a x440g2 if I "disable policy" the command for service-unavailable is now shown:

Ryan_Yacobucci_0-1669134761022.png

If you are only using RFC 3580 I think you may be able to use this command.
Thanks
-Ryan

Ryan_Yacobucci
Extreme Employee

Hello,

Default VLAN or default policy on the port will be used in case of a RADIUS communication failure.

Please see following article: https://extremeportal.force.com/ExtrArticleDetail?an=000107144

Thanks
-Ryan

Hello Ryan,

thanks for your reply.

We need to go fore the provided solution with "authentication optional and a default admin policy".
But I don't know if the solution works the way we want it to.